The 6 Stages Of Divorce Grief (Infographic)

Posted by Stephen F. McDonough | Apr 08, 2014 | 0 Comments

Certainly your Massachusetts divorce is a legal process, but it is absolutely an emotional one also. Mental health professionals have identified different stages of grief, and the stages are very similar for divorce.  Feeling stressed, sad, and a general sense of upheaval is normal, but some people need more help to cope with the emotions and stress of divorce.

Understanding the stages of divorce grief, which stem from an understandable sense of loss (just like when someone close to us dies) is helpful when you are going through the process.  Be careful however, if you feel as though you are stuck in a stage for a long period of time or feeling high levels of anxiety or depression. Uncontrolled emotions can hijack your divorce and contribute to poor decision-making.

The 6 Stages of Divorce Grief Infographic

Westwood family lawyer

About the Author

Stephen F. McDonough

Stephen works closely with clients facing divorce or other family conflict. He is a certified mediator through the Massachusetts Council on Family Mediation, a designation that only about 11% of mediators have obtained. In addition to providing mediation services, Stephen regularly appears in...


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Make an appointment online

Several initial consultation options are available. Please make your selection after you click the blue “Book An Appointment” button.

Book an appointment